A Personal Goal for the New Year

A personal goal for me this year is to get as much of our food from local sources as possible. I want to know where my food comes from and what’s in it. I think this will be challenging as we are busy people and this requires a time and planning. Any suggestions are very welcome. I also will take this opportunity to say that I receive no incentive to recommend any of the restaurants or businesses that you will read about here. I simply recommend them as they are businesses that I like and who offer quality products.

This is where we are so far. We have successfully made the switch away from grocery store milk. Last spring we started buying our milk from Butler’s Farm Market. They stock milk and other products from Trickling Springs Creamery. First, I love going to Butler’s because they have great variety of produce and other products and are incredibly nice. Second, the milk you get from a dairy as opposed to the grocery store tastes so much better and is worth the cost. It is also free of any antibiotics and growth hormones. Since Butler’s closes from about November to March, during that time we get our milk from the Peddler’s Wagon outside of Hedgesville. It’s fairly inconvenient, so I’m thankful that my sister-in-law is willing to pick up our milk at the same time she picks up milk for her family.

Along with milk, I get most of our produce from Butler’s during the season that they are open. Off season is a bit harder. Produce gets much more expensive during that time, and I’m having difficulty spending that much money on produce. To solve this dilemma, I’m going to spend time this spring, summer and fall, freezing and canning produce so that we have it available during the winter. We just need to have a large freezer by spring.

The parts of my goal that I need to work on now are getting bread, meat, spices and condiments from local sources. I have a few options for meat but haven’t built them into my routine yet. I have an option for bread but am not sure that it will work out. I’ll update as I have success (or have to continue to figure out how to build this as a lifestyle).

I’m excited to see where we are with this goal at the end of this year.

Leave a Reply

