Restaurant Review: Casa Visone

Recently Ryan and I went to Casa Visone for dinner. I love the atmosphere of Casa Visone! It’s quaint and intimate which is what you miss when you go to a big Italian restaurant like Olive Garden. The owner and the chef spoke personally with us. They were very personable and concerned with whether we were enjoying ourselves. While we were there, there was a couple dining with a little boy. The owner was really welcoming to the family and very sweet to the little boy.

After a little wait we were given bread with fresh ground pepper to go with the infused olive oil that was on the table. The bread and olive oil were what you would expect. I ordered the Ravioli con Pucini which translates to cheese ravioli with mushrooms in a sherry cream sauce. The sauce was delightfully rich, and the ravioli was a nice size and given generously. It could have benefitted from a little more salt and being a bit warmer, but I still enjoyed every bite.

For me, the real star of the evening was dessert. The owner listed the desserts and had me as soon as she said ganache. I love ganache! It was everything ganache should be–rich, dark and balanced with homemade whipped cream.

Overall, I enjoyed the meal. The on-street parking wasn’t an issue which was nice since it was literally about 10 degrees outside. Improvements would be a little more attention to drink refills and the food being warmer. Highlights were the sherry cream sauce and the ganache. Overall, I give it 3 1/2 stars (out of 5) and definitely look forward to trying other items on their menu.

Ryan’s Rating: I’m a thirsty guy. If I have to wait for a refill, I’m unhappy. So this rating is a glass mostly empty. Through the [Empty] Looking Glass? I’d be more clever if I wasn’t still thirsty.

Leave a Reply

